Cookies

Gamereactor uses cookies to ensure that we give you the best browsing experience on our website. If you continue, we'll assume that you are happy with our cookies policy

English
Front page
news
Destiny 2

Destiny 2's Season of Opulence starts next month

We have a release date for the new season, which brings us a new raid geared towards testing knowledge and execution of mechanics.

Bungie has revealed via their blog that Destiny 2 fans don't have long to wait until the Season of Opulence starts, as all players will be getting access starting June 4, with a different rollout this time around. Owners of the Annual Pass get to try a new raid on day one, which is different to the usual system which sees raids launch usually on a Friday during reset.

Crown of Sorrow lands at June 4 at 16:00 PDT (00:00 BST, 01:00 CEST the next day), and the recommended power for the first encounter is 715. "The raid is a challenge geared toward testing a fireteam's ability to learn and execute on the mechanics, as well as their ability to overcome enemies and bosses together. Having a short window of time between release and launch allows us to preserve the combat challenge for players making their attempt on day one and get people playing the raid content right away," the dev team writes.

Last Wish and Scourge of the Past will be unavailable until Crown of Sorrow has been beaten, stopping players with a load of Ethereal Keys having an advantage, and Prime Attunements will be reset to two charges per character on the first day. Also, while characters usually build Prime Attunement charges over time, these are being set to two per character after logging in when the new season begins. All level 50 characters can earn Prime Engrams after signing in and playing though, and can build Prime Attunements once more after the reset occurs.

More information on changes to Destiny 2 are coming in June, but before that we have the final Iron Banner of Season of the Drifter taking place next week, with Lord Saladin returning to the tower. This starts at 10:00 PDT on May 14 (18:00 BST, 19:00 CEST), ending at the same time on May 21.

For more on the changes made to the game recently, check out the full patch notes. Are you ready for Season of Opulence though?

You watching

Preview 10s
Next 10s
Advertisements

You watching

Preview 10s
Next 10s
Advertisements
Destiny 2

Related texts

Destiny 2: ForsakenScore

Destiny 2: Forsaken

REVIEW. Written by Kim Orremark

"The beginning of the second year is off to a great start and we really hope that Bungie can avoid any more unnecessary problems in the future."

Destiny 2: WarmindScore

Destiny 2: Warmind

REVIEW. Written by Kim Orremark

"It's actually an improvement over the last expansion despite the fact that they feel quite similar."

Destiny 2: Shadowkeep and Beyond

Destiny 2: Shadowkeep and Beyond

PREVIEW. Written by Kim Orremark

We've been getting stuck in with Destiny 2's latest expansion, taking us to the moon as Bungie takes the game in a fresh direction with New Light.



Loading next content