PUBG: Battlegrounds

Tempo Storm claim NPL pre-season victory

The OGN Super Arena hosted the action, with Tempo Storm taking $50,000 USD in prize money to kick things off.

Subscribe to our newsletter here!

* Required field

The National PUBG League pre-season competition has just wrapped up, with 32 teams competing for their stake in the $100,000 USD prize pool. The final was spread over four rounds - consisting of two matches on both Erangel and Miramar - and points were awarded for both kills and the team's finishing position.

Tempo Storm got off to a flying start in the final, with a 1-2 finish in the first two rounds. Their new team member Michael 'Sharky' Gariti set the tone for their performance, netting 11 kills in round one alone. Post-match, the team said this was their highlight of the tournament, providing the platform for them to go and claim victory across the four-round final.

The team were nervous in the previous round, as they only just claimed qualification to the finals, with a three-team matchup going ahead to determine a final qualifier. To then go ahead and win the final was a huge achievement.

Having said that, the team didn't look too thrilled at the victory, with little to no crowd reaction following the announcement they had taken first spot. This followed relatively poor viewer numbers with the tournament taking place at an awkward time for East coast and international viewers. The team will be happy with the prize money they earned though; a tidy $50,000.

Is this a good start to the NPL?

PUBG: Battlegrounds
Photo: OGN

Related texts

Loading next content