LIVE
HQ
logo hd live | Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba
See in hd icon
English
Gamereactor
esports
Splitgate

Splitgate is getting a $100,000 launch esports season

It'll be known as the Splitgate Pro Series and starts later this week.

Subscribe to our newsletter here!

* Required field
HQ

1047 Games has announced the inaugural season of Splitgate esports. Set to begin later this week, on October 17, the event will boast a $100,000 prize pool and will span a range of free to enter tournaments and live broadcasts taking place until the end of 2021.

The season will start with the Splitgate Pro Series first open qualifier this Sunday, with another open qualifier taking place each consecutive Sunday until November 21. All six of these events will be free to enter and will offer up $5000 in cash prizes, and will all take place at 20:00 BST / 21:00 CEST (becoming 19:00 GMT / 20:00 CET October 31 onwards).

Once the open qualifiers have wrapped up, there will be a Last Chance Qualifier taking place on December 5, to select the eight teams that will be competing in the Grand Final on December 12, which will feature a $60,000 cash prize.

As for how qualifying will work, the announcement post for the esports series explains it as so:


  • "Open Qualifying: Earn individual player points based on your team placement in Open Qualifier brackets. Play with new rosters and players each week and climb the SPS Leaderboard. After Qualifier #6, seven teams with the most accrued SPS points will be qualified for the Season Finals.

  • Last Chance Qualifier: After the first six qualifiers are completed, the final open bracket tournament will be a "Last Chance Qualifier" where the winning team will instantly secure the 8th and final seed for the Launch Season Finals."

Each of these events will be broadcast live on Splitgate's Twitch channel and will be sponsored by Astro Gaming. Catch the action when it kicks off this Sunday here.

Splitgate

Related texts

Splitgate

Splitgate

PREVIEW. Written by Ben Lyons

The arena shooter genre gets that more diverse with the portal slinging title from 1047 Games.



Loading next content


Cookies

Gamereactor uses cookies to ensure that we give you the best browsing experience on our website. If you continue, we'll assume that you are happy with our cookies policy