Oculus Rift won't arrive until 2017 in several countries

Source: Only the announced 20 countries will get the device this year.

Subscribe to our newsletter here!

* Required field

While 20 lucky countries will be getting the Oculus Rift come March, most other countries will have to wait at least one year for their chance to buy the VR device in stores. Talking with the portuguese distributor, we got confirmation that Portugal (and "other" countries) will only be getting the Oculus Rift in 2017.

We also got confirmation that the current price and content for the Oculus Rift pack might not be true for the 2017 launch, depending on numerous factors (how sales are doing, what games worked, production values, etc). You can find the list of the 20 confirmed countries below.

Confirmed Oculus-enabled countries: Australia, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Japan, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, United Kingdom, United States.

In addition to Portugal there are some notable omissions with Russia being the most obvious one, but there are also more traditional regions such as Austria and Switzerland without official support.

As it looks now, if you live elsewhere you may have to brace yourself for a lengthy wait or be prepared to import it.

Oculus Rift won't arrive until 2017 in several countries

Loading next content