English
Gamereactor
news

Geoff Keighley unveils Game Festival for the Game Awards

The event will run for two days on Steam, giving players free access to at least 13 upcoming demos for unreleased games.

Subscribe to our newsletter here!

* Required field
HQ

Creator and host of the annual Game Awards show, Geoff Keighley, has announced a new project known as the Game Festival, which will allow gamers to play various demos of unreleased games on Steam for 48 hours.

The Festival seems to digitally mimic the experience of attending giant industry events and shows, like E3 and EGX, according to Keighley:

"Let's face it: Not everyone can attend a physical trade show or consumer event. The Game Festival is designed from the ground-up as an event without barriers, extending the benefits of a physical event to the global gaming community that watches The Game Awards."

For the first festival, there're quite a few niche titles that are available, and demos include:

System Shock (Nightdive Studios)
Eastward (Pixpil/Chucklefish)
Spiritfarer (Thunder Lotus)
Moving Out (SMG Studio/Devm Games/Team17)
Röki (Polygon Treehouse/United Label)
Chicory (Greg Lobanov)
Wooden Nickel (Brain&Brain)
Haven (The Game Bakers)
Heavenly Bodies (2pt Interactive)
Acid Knife (Powerhoof)
The Drifter (Powerhoof)
CARRION (Phobia/Devolver)
SkateBIRD (Glass Bottom Games)

The festival itself will begin later today at 10:00 PT (18:00 GMT, 19:00 CET), finishing this Saturday at the same time, when the demos will be removed forever from both the store and your PC.

The Game Awards will start way later than that for UK fans though, kicking off at 01:30 GMT tomorrow morning (02:30 CET).

Will you be jumping into the digital festival to try out a few of these games?

HQ
Geoff Keighley unveils Game Festival for the Game Awards


Loading next content