Cookies

Gamereactor uses cookies to ensure that we give you the best browsing experience on our website. If you continue, we'll assume that you are happy with our cookies policy

English
Front page
news
Gears 5

Gears 5's tech test available for Xbox Game Pass subscribers

You can download and play it next week, and there are rewards for those who complete challenges during the test.

Microsoft's E3 conference was very busy, and between the Keanu Reeves appearance and other goliath trailers like Halo Infinite, it's understandable to forget some of the details. For example, Gears 5's new Escape mode was unveiled at the event, and now Microsoft has announced its plans for a Versus tech test ahead of its September 10 release date.

These will be weekend test sessions showing off the updated Escalation game type, King of the Hill, and the new Arcade mode, not to mention the training Bootcamp. There's even a Tour of Duty featuring challenges to unlock a Tech Test Banner, with three weapon skins available to unlock too. This weekend we'll be getting a deeper look at Escalation via the Eleague Invitational as well, so be sure to check that out.

The good news is that those with an Xbox Game Pass membership or a Gears 5 pre-order will get access to the tech test download from July 17, being able to play on July 19 at 10:00 PDT (18:00 BST, 19:00 CEST) until July 21, going active again between July 26 at the same time until July 29. All you need to do is search for Gears 5 on PC or Xbox One, although you'll need Xbox Live Gold to get stuck in.

For more details like the PC specs, head this way.

Are you a competitive Gears player?

You watching

Preview 10s
Next 10s
Advertisements

You watching

Preview 10s
Next 10s
Advertisements
Gears 5