Gamereactor UK. Watch the latest video game trailers, and interviews from the biggest gaming conventions in the world. Gamereactor uses cookies to ensure that we give you the best browsing experience on our website. If you continue, we'll assume that you are happy with our cookies policy


Frede Rasmussen is the 2022 Formula E: Accelerate champion

The sim-racer is now a back-to-back Accelerate victor.

Subscribe to our newsletter here!

* Required field

Going into the Formula E: Accelerate finals that were being held at the ExCel Arena in London over the weekend ahead of the 13th and 14th rounds of the Formula E season, you could say that Frede Rasmussen was the favourite to take the tournament, due to the fact that the sim-racer was the last Accelerate champion.

Now that the Accelerate finals have concluded, we can add that Rasmussen did in fact add a second Accelerate trophy to his collection, as he has been crowned back-to-back Accelerate champion.

The Danish sim-racer beat out the likes of two-time F1 Esports Series champion Jarno Opmeer, and five-time Formula SimRacing World Champion Bono Huis to take the tournament, and to wrap up the 2022 season.

While Formula E has yet to reveal any details about the 2023 season for Accelerate, we were told in our recent interview with gaming director Kieran Holmes-Darby that the esports tournament will be back for a 2023 season.

Frede Rasmussen is the 2022 Formula E: Accelerate champion

Loading next content