Cookies

Gamereactor uses cookies to ensure that we give you the best browsing experience on our website. If you continue, we'll assume that you are happy with our cookies policy

English
esports
League of Legends

Riot details the 2020 LCS format and schedule

Things kick off for the LCS on January 25, and the playoffs have been updated for this season.

You're watching

Preview 10s
Next 10s
Advertisements

The League of Legends Championship Series, or LCS, is one of the top competitions in Riot Games' portfolio, and now they've announced details on the format for next year, with the competition due to start on January 25 and Academy kicking off a day earlier.

LCS games will be on Saturdays, Sundays, and Mondays, while Academy ties will be on all three days plus Fridays. Monday Night League is introduced as a part of these, featuring two marquee LCS matchups of the week, starting at 17:30 PT (01:30 GMT the next day, or 02:30 CET).

Academy Rush is another new show, airing on Fridays at 17:00 PT (01:00 GMT the next day, or 02:00 CET), featuring four Academy games played at the same time, while the fifth is shown in full.

LCS playoffs have been updated as well for both the spring and summer splits, taking place over four weeks, and the Academy playoffs have also been changed. For the nitty-gritty of all these changes, head this way.

The three LCS teams will qualify for the World Championship this year via new LCS summer playoffs rather than regional qualifiers and championship points too, so the changes are pretty notable this year.

Are you ready for a new season?

League of Legends
Photo: Riot Games

Related texts



Loading next content