Gamereactor follow Gamereactor / Dansk / Svenska / Norsk / Suomi / Deutsch / Italiano / Español / Português / Français / Nederlands / 中國
Gamereactor Close White
Log in member

Forgot password?
I'm not a member, but I want to be

Or log in with a Facebook account
Destiny 2

Destiny 2 - Quickfire Class Guide

New Hunter, Titan, and Warlock subclasses have landed in Destiny 2. Here's how to pick the one that's best for you.

  • Text: Mike Holmes & Ford James


We've been playing Destiny 2 non-stop since launch and we thought we'd give you an overview of the various subclasses you'll encounter.

The active abilities for the Titan are the same across all three sub-classes and focus on the defensive aspect; you can have a Towering Barricade, that creates a large barrier that acts as cover, as well as physically blocking off areas, while the other option is a smaller blockade called the Rally Barricade, that acts as cover so you can peek over it while aiming down the sights, and it'll instantly reload your weapon whenever you take cover. Titans are also equipped with a few types of jump that range from gradual hover, to more airborne control, to a sudden burst upward as an evasive technique. The same goes for the grenades, although each sub-class has three different types of throwable explosive that can be utilised in various situations such as stick, lightning, and incendiary grenades.

Sentinel is the new Titan sub-class introduced in Destiny 2, and after the initial prologue, it's the first you'll unlock and get to play around with. It focuses on defensive play and close quarters combat, especially with the super ability, which is a light shield and can be used as a throwable or as a shield. It's supported by the passive skill tree, Code of the Protector, which focuses on defensive skills and has abilities like Defensive Strike, which creates an overshield whenever you melee someone, protecting you and any nearby allies. Turn The Tide supports Defensive Strike, making it last longer, as well as increasing melee damage and reload speed. There's also Rallying Force, where melee kills restore Health to you and friends. Ward of Dawn is the final Protector upgrade, and creates a shielding dome, or a bubble, to protect friendlies.

Destiny 2

The other passive skill tree is the Aggressor path, and you get skills such as Shield Bash, which disorients enemies if you melee them while sprinting, and Superior Arsenal, that recharges your grenade energy whenever you get any grenade kills. In The Trenches means your Super ability cooldown is reduced by any kills you get while surrounded by enemies, while Second Shield gives you a second Shield Throw charge while the Sentinel Shield is active.

Striker was available in the first game, but has been slightly reworked. Fists of Havoc is similar to the previous ground-pound, but you can utilise it multiple times while the super is active, or you can shoulder charge through enemies. Earthshaker is the passive tree that supports it with skills like Seismic Strike, which allows you to shoulder slam when sprinting and cause an Arc explosion, and Terminal Velocity that combos with Fists of Havoc to leave an aura that deals damage, which is increased the longer it's in the air. Magnitude gives players another grenade charge and increases the duration of the effects, while Aftershocks supports Seismic Strike, in that damaged enemies from the strike recharges your grenade.

Juggernaut, on the other hand, is all about melee. Frontal Assault reloads your weapon and increases the stability with each melee kill, while Reversal means melee kills trigger health regeneration. Knockout means that your melee range and damage is increased with every broken enemy shield or critically wounded foe, and Trample extends the duration of Fists of Havoc with every kill you get with it.

Sunbreaker is undoubtedly the coolest of the three sub-classes as you become a hammer wielding fiery maestro with Hammer of Sol, the Super Ability that means you can shoot flaming projectiles at enemies. Fire-Forged is the first passive code available and doesn't stick to a particular theme, but rather has four abilities that power you in different ways. Hammer Strike is a melee attack that is unleashed while sprinting that essentially weakens enemies, while Tempered Metal is all about providing your allies with extra movement and reload speed. Battle-Forge means any enemies that fall to the Hammer of Sol explode and can damage nearby foes, while Vulcan's Rage is similar in that the hammer projectiles shatter into explosive molten embers upon impact.

Siegebreaker is the other path and focuses on Sunspots that damage any enemies inside them, but that can also be used to buff your abilities. Sun Warrior, for example, means any grenade or melee kills leave a Sunspot in their wake, while Rings of Fire - and no, not the Johnny Cash tune - means standing in a Sunspot recharges your Solar Abilities faster and your Super lasts longer. Solar Siege means thrown hammers create Sunspots on impact, and standing in them allows you to throw hammers faster. Mortar Blast makes any enemies struck by melee release a Solar explosion that sets any nearby enemies on fire.

Destiny 2
Destiny 2